Friday, 16 January 2015

The 49 Americans ‎– "We Know Nonsense" (Choo Choo Train Records ‎– CHUG 4) 1982

The one legacy the 49 Americans are saddled with is laying the foundations for the mid-eighties mudslide of those horrendous Twee indie groups like Trixies Big Red Motorbike (or was it motorcycle?).In 1982 this was an essential position to take so we could forget that the UK Subs and The Exploited existed And there are plenty twee tunes on this follow up to "E Pluribus Unum". Somehow everyone seems to be able to hold a tune on this collection of happy catchy tunes,which is tantamount to a sell-out. If you like faux-naive,simple and innocent tunes, then this is a classic; but the stink of ambition permeates the Happy pop onslaught. You just know that everyone involved,including arch-avant gardists such as David Toop,Lol Coxhill,and Steve Beresford, are annoyingly intelligent,and don't they want us to know it? Should have been some type of 'Hit'....and probably was.

Tracklist :

A1 Doo-Bee-Doo-Bee
A2 It Is And It Is
A3 Edible
A4 Verbal Culture
A5 Liberty
A6 We Know Nonsense
A7 Tendency To Lie
A8 Glimpse Go By
A9 It's Time
B1 Mon Nuisance
B2 Taste
B3 Imagination
B4 Do
B5 I Be Later
B6 Move Around All Day
B7 Free Trade
B8 Mummy Was A Record Player

DOWNLOAD this nonsense HERE!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Yours is one of my favoritest blogs. Any chance of an upload of "Too Young To Be Ideal" too? Thanks for all you do.