Thursday, 5 July 2018

Various Artists ‎– "New Criminals Volume 1" (New Crimes Tapes ‎– NC2) 1981

From The Thought Criminals to "New Criminals" Volume 1 on New Crimes Tapes, An Anarcho-Punk leaning fanzine label from Southend-On-Sea.

Despite appearences from The Subhumans and Flux of Pink Indians, there are some UK DIY classics on this.Especially from the DIY myth that is Stripey Zebras, and 86:Mix...which is a new one on me.


A1 –Sinyx - Animal
A2 –Sinyx - Suicide
A3 –Sinyx - Fight
A4 –The Subhumans - Parasites
A5 –The Subhumans - It's Gonna Get Worse
A6 –The Subhumans - Drugs Of Youth
A7 –86:Mix - Describe Yourself
A8 –86:Mix - My Desert Is A City
A9 –86:Mix - The Party
B1 –Stripey Zebras - Sgt. Bilko Plays Pop
B2 –Stripey Zebras - Greta Garbo Goes Shopping
B3 –Stripey Zebras - Monsters On T.V.
B4 –APF Brigade - The Profesionals
B5 –APF Brigade - Ban The Bomb
B6 –APF Brigade - No Effect
B7 –Flux Of Pink Indians - Left Me To Die
B8 –Flux Of Pink Indians - Is There Anybody There?
B9 –Flux Of Pink Indians - Life After Death
B10 –Enola Death - Fox Hunting
B11 –Enola Death - The Sun Says

Tracks A1 to A3 recorded live at Dave's practice room 10.05.81.
Tracks A4 to A6 from the 3 part cassette "Demolition War".
Tracks A7 to A9 recorded live at Southend Rascals 09.04.81
Tracks B1 to B3 recorded live at Rochford Zero 6 01.12.80
Tracks B4 to B6 from APF Brigade's live cassette.
Tracks B7 to B9 from the FOPI demo tape.
Tracks B10 to B11 recorded in Wayne Kermode's garden shed, May 1980. Enola Death formed in March 1980 and split up in June 1980 in a wet field near Stonehenge.


Philip Johnson said...

At one time Paul and I considered 86 Mix as possibles to be on Namedrop Records, he sent me about three cassettes full of people he thought possible and I liked "My Desert Is A City". Good to hear it again. My old tape copy had some fault in the copying which made it stop a few times at the end, making random pauses of a second or so. I thought that would have been a good effect to reproduce on record.

Jonny Zchivago said...

There is a sad lack of anything else by 86:Mix...except an appearence on an Adventures in Reality compilation.
Tape behaviour is always a fruitful source for new ideas I find.

Graham Burnett said...

86 Mix actually have 2 'cassette albums' out there, 'The Baby Banjos' released by Blot Tapes and 'From The Fridge' which was a live compilation on New Crimes tapes. Bass player Chris Kemp aka 'Voss Trent' may be able to help as I know he digitised some of the 86 Mix stuff. You should be able to find him on Facebook.