Thursday, 14 September 2017

Joy Division - "Moonlight Club,Hampstead, London 02/04/1980 ,03/04/1980 & 04/04/1980" (Bootleg)

Two good quality(the third night is a bit muffled) audience recordings from the infamous 4 gigs in three days stint at the beginning of April 1980. This included three consecutive nights at The Moonlight Club in West Hampstead, with a 'big gig' at The Rainbow sandwiched inbetween.
Utter madness considering Ian Curtis's failing health.
Predictably, on the night of the fourth, after playing an intense performance at the Rainbow, Ian was noticeably ill, and after twenty minutes into their second gig of the night at The Moonlight Club, Ian had another epileptic attack at the end of 'Interzone' to finish the evening.An understanding audience member shouted 'Fuck Off' as Curtis was carried offstage and Bernard announced that this was the end of the evening.
The tragic disregard of Curtis's condition was nothing more than criminal ignorance on behalf of his cohorts,and I expect nothing more from the demanding public.And it's no disconnected fact than he killed himself a month later almost to the day.

Tracklist - 02/04/1980:

01. The Sound Of Music
02. Wilderness
03. Colony
04. Love Will Tear Us Apart
05. A Means To An End
06. Transmission
07. Dead Souls
08. Sister Ray

Tracklist - 03/04/1980:

01. Love Will Tear Us Apart
02. Glass
03. Digital
04. Heart And Soul
05. Isolation
06. Disorder
07. Atrocity Exhibition
08. Atmosphere.

Tracklist - 04/04/1980:

01. Intro
02. Transmission
03. A Means To An End
04. Twenty Four Hours
05. Day Of The Lords
06. Insight
07. Interzone.


1 comment:

A-Mfan said...

So I was never expecting to find this set. So glad you had it here. Thank you.